Created with GIMP

Line 1: Structure and function of molecular sensors.

1- This research line focuses on studying how the external environment influences channels present on the cell membrane that open or close depending on the external stimuli. In mammals, these channel determine processes as relevant as hormone secretion and neurotransmitters sensory transduction and muscle and nerve excitation. This group studies how changes in the electrical potential (field) of the cell membrane or changes in the environmental temperature affect the cold-hot sensation with the idea of determining the structure of the temperature sensor and observe how electrical, chemical or thermal energies transform in mechanical energy (which will in turn causing the opening of the channels). Researchers in this group investigate the functioning of different sensors present in the channels and hemichannels that are formed by connexins, a protein family that establish communication bridges between cells and that are very necessary for the correct functioning of the organisms. To answer these questions different electrophysiological techniques are used in order to analyze the electrical properties of the cells, from unique channels in individual cells to whole organs using the Xenopus as a model system. This line also uses fluorescence and computational model techniques in collaboration with line 5.

Researchers.

  • Ramón Latorre (Director CINV) / fono:(56) 32 2508029 / ramon.latorre at uv.cl
  • Alan Neely  / fono:(56) 32 2995676 / alan.neely at uv.cl
  • Carlos González / fono:(56) 32 2995522 / carlos.gonzalezl at uv.cl
  • Karen Castillo / fono:(56) 32 2508189 / karen.castillo at cinv.cl
  • Francisco Bezanilla / fono:(1) 773 8341458 / fbezanilla at uchicago.edu

Associate Researchers.

  • Miguel Holmgren / fono: (1) 301 4516259 / holmgren at ninds.nih.gov
  • Osvaldo Alvarez / fono:(56) 32 2508190 / oalvarez at uchile.cl
  • Verónica Milesi / fono: (54) 0221 4250497 Int.48 / veronica at biol.unlp.edu.ar

Postdoctoral Researchers.

  • Gustavo Contreras / fono:(56) 32 2508047 / gustavo.contreras at cinv.cl
  • Willy Carrasquel / fono:(56) 32 2508090 / willy.carrasquel at cinv.cl
  • Isaac García / fono:(56) 32 2508023 / isaac.garcia at cinv.cl

PhD Students.

  • Bernardo Pinto / fono:(56) 32 2508023 / bernardo.pinto at cinv.cl
  • Daniela De Giorgis / fono:(56) 32 2508189 / daniela.degiorgis at cinv.cl
  • Emerson Carmona / fono:(56) 32 2508190 / emerson.carmona at cinv.cl
  • Felipe Valenzuela / fono:(56) 32 2508189 / felipe.valenzuela at cinv.cl
  • Gonzalo Martínez / fono:(56) 32 2508047 / gonzalo.martinez at cinv.cl
  • Yenisleidy Lorenzo / fono:(56) 32 2508190 / yenisleidy.lorenzo at cinv.cl
  • Matías Picuntureo / fono:(56) 32 2508047 / matias.picuntureo at cinv.cl

Ongoing projects.

Instituto Milenio-CINV

Año: 2016-2021
Concurso: Proyectos Institutos Milenio 2009 – ICM09-022-P
Financiamiento:  Ministerio de Economía, Fomento y Turismo de Chile
Investigador Principal: Ramón Latorre
Otros Investigadores: Juan Carlos Sáez, Alan Neely, Ana María Cárdenas, John Ewer, Kathleen Whitlock, Adrián Palacios, Tomás Pérez-Acle, David Naranjo, Fernando González-Nilo, Oliver Schmachtenberg, Agustín Martínez, Patricio Orio, Andrés Chávez, Pablo Moya, Andrea Calixto, Carlos González.
Otras Universidades o Instituciones: Centro Interdisciplinario de Neurociencia de Valparaíso, Pontificia Universidad Católica, Universidad Andrés Bello, Fundación Ciencia y Vida.

CONICYT

LIGAND AND TEMPERATURE ACTIVATION IN TRPV1 CHANNELS: A THERMODYNAMICS AND MOLECULAR SIMULATIONS ANALYSIS
Año: abril 2017 – abril 2021
Concurso: Fondecyt Regular 2017 – #1170733
Financiamiento: Conicyt
Investigador Principal: Fernando González-Nilo,
Otros Investigadores: Carlos González
Otras Universidades o Instituciones: Universidad Andrés Bello

DIFFERENTIAL REGULATION OF VOLTAGE-SENSORS IN HIGH VOLTAGE ACTIVATED CALCIUM CHANNELS

Año: 1 abril 2016 – 1 abril  2020
Concurso: Fondecyt Regular 2016 – # 1161672
Financiamiento: Conicyt
Investigador Principal: Alan Neely

COUPLING BETWEEN VOLTAGE SENSOR AND PERMEATION PATHWAY PROTON CHANNEL (HV1)

Años: marzo 2016 – marzo 2020
Concurso: Fondecyt Regular 2016 – # 1160261
Financiamiento: Conicyt
Investigador Principal: Carlos González

GATING, ARCHITECTURE AND MODULATION BY BETA AND GAMMA SUBUNITS OF THE CALCIUM AND VOLTAGE-ACTIVATED POTASSIUM (BK) CHANNEL

Año: marzo 2015 –  marzo 2019
Concurso: Fondecyt Regular 2015 – # 1150273
Financiamiento: Conicyt
Investigador Principal: Ramón Latorre
Otros Investigadores: Fernando González-Nilo
Otras Universidades o Instituciones: Universidad Andrés Bello

THE COLD-RECEPTOR TRPM8 CHANNEL CONTAINS A TEMPERATURE SENSOR AT COILED-COIL DOMAIN LOCATED AT C-TERMINUS END

Año: abril 2018 – abril 2022
Concurso: Fondecyt Regular 2018 – # 1180999
Financiamiento: Conicyt
Investigador Principal: Karen Castillo
Otros Investigadores: Ramón Latorre, Fernando González-Nilo, Germán Miño
Otras Universidades o Instituciones: UNAB

FUNCTIONAL COUPLING BETWEEN VOLTAGE SENSOR AND PERMEATION PATHWAY IN HV1 CHANNELS

Año: abril 2018 – abril 2022
Concurso: Fondecyt Regular 2018 – # 1180464
Financiamiento: Conicyt
Investigador Principal: Carlos González

Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Youtube